The Switch

switchI’ve been working on this for a few weeks.  I’m trying a new technique that I accidentally discovered on a recent pastel.

For the The Locomotion, I had taped off the right side to balance the composition, intending to frame and mat to cover the taped area.  When I removed the tape, I like the effect of the early stage of the pastel showing next to the more developed section to the left, so I set out to consciously produce it.  The strips of tape on the left side are covering various layers of the composition.  In a work session or 2, I will add tape and/or remove tape and finalize.

In addition, my studio neighbor, Rick, loaned me some books by Antonio Lopez Garcia. The sketch of the light switch and door molding into the green field was inspired by one of his works.

One thought on “The Switch

Leave a Reply

