The Leaning Tower of Fire Plug

plugging

I walked Chester on Spruce Ave.  A quiet street with a lot of fire hydrants.

One thing I’m noticing as I survey the fire hydrants is that many of them are not ‘straight’.  They lean at varying angles.  I wonder why this is?  Is the earth moving around the pipes?  Are the pipes shifting beneath the street?  I would assume that they were as close to a right angle as possible when installed.

 

One thought on “The Leaning Tower of Fire Plug

  1. Nice sketch. Regarding the pipe- I have never noticed that in the Chicago area and we have freeze/thaw conditions which might make the ground heave. Maybe the nature of the components used in Longmont?

Leave a Reply

