Don’t Sleep in the Subway

Pet_Clark

I finished this sketch of Petula Clark that I’ve been working on (and off) for a few weeks. As I was working on it, I was reminded of a Petula Clark LP box I picked up at a yard sale many years ago.  It was from France, and  belonged to a devoted fan of Petula.  One of the items in the box is a fan club card. Another is an autographed postcard, as well as assorted publicity stills.

Cardautographpetpic01

But most surprising for me, was this pic showing her with her family:

Wolff_family

You may notice that her married name is ‘Wolff’ . . . .

Petula has had a remarkable career by any standard.  Besides her swinging 60s British invasion success, she was a child and teen star in England, and also a pop star in France.

A great movie that has Petula in a supporting role is ‘I Know Where I’m Going’ by Michael Powell and Emric Pressburger.

youngpeti-know-where-im-going-title-still

Leave a Reply

