It’s My Party

I’ve been away from my drawing table for a few weeks now.  My graphic design work kept me at my computer.  I was mulling over this color pencil drawing of the ‘The Gift” that I’ve been working on in spare moments.

I was having trouble getting the results I wanted using color pencils.  Even using Prismacolors, the colors just didn’t pop.  I remembered I had a box of watercolors and gouache in my studio.  I used to do a lot of watercolor work, but had not thought much about it lately.  It struck me that using gouache (opaque watercolor) with the color pencil might work.

I’m encouraged by today’s work.  My goal is to make my drawings more like paintings, and my paintings more like drawings.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

