My Sunday with Chi Chi

I thought today’s session was going to be about adding color, but it turned out to be more about building values.

Starting with a blend of deep earth reds and prussian blue, I tried to take everything a step farther.  If I’m timid about the shading and contrasting darks and lights, this piece won’t work. At first the blue seemed to overwhelm everything, but after a few hours of push/pulling the tones by adding dark to light and then light to dark, I felt it was at a good stage when I put down my brushes.

 

One thought on “My Sunday with Chi Chi

Leave a Reply

