Painting Walt | Day 1

Portrait of Walt Lyons | Day 1

I started painting Walt, transferring my drawing to a canvas board I have been priming and re-priming as I was working on the drawing.  I tried applying Utrecht gesso without adding any water.  It’s think, sort of custard-like, but also spreadable.

I used graphite transfer paper, which I regretted after lifting the transfer paper from the board.  Every place my hand had rested while transferring was a dark gray smudge.  I’m working on painting over the smudges.

Work area

Leave a Reply

