Portrait of My Sister, continued


Continuing work on this portrait.  I spent some time on the clothing, adding a dark wash mixed from burnt sienna, naples deep yellow and orange.

Then I focused on face and hair, layering shades of naples light yellow, orange, white, unbleached titanium and others.

I thought about working on the background, to desaturate the background color.  But the colors I attempted to mix to do that did not look right when I brushed them on, so after a few tries I gave up on that for today.

Still miles to go on this.  I need to build tones and contrasts, and add more details to the face . . . and hope I don’t over or under do it.

Leave a Reply

