Drawing & Layering

Building up a surface, hoping for integrity.

 

I started today’s session with something I had been thinking about doing; covering the entire canvas with a semi transparent yellow/golden wash.  My hope was to unify the surface, then start drawing and layering colors back into the canvas.

Detail of painting in progress

I’m trying to work as organically as possible, building shapes with both negative and positive areas, and building on what’s underneath each layer.

I think I need to spend a bit more time doing this, then it’s time to start applying other colors and values apart from the red/yellow/orange scheme I’ve been building.  I want this work to partially monochromatic, but not totally.  My plan is to use select, probably muted key colors for things like the pink coat, green scarf, and other things.

Leave a Reply

