Drawing Onto Canvas

Transfering the drawing, using acrylic paint, a computer and a projector

I finally got to spend time at my studio today, transferring my drawing to canvas.  I used my macbook and a projector, and I think it worked really well.  This is the first time I’ve tried transferring in this fashion.  Even tho it was the early afternoon, I could get it dark enough in my studio to clearly see the projection on the canvas.

The Setup, with Chester

For previous work, I had done a printout of a photo of my drawing, and transfer paper.  This method works, but is hard on the canvas, because of the pressure needed to trace thru a printout and the transfer paper.  I also think I was able ‘draw’ more naturally with the projector compared to the transfer paper method.

Ready to paint

Ready to start with the oils.  Hopefully my schedule this week will allow for late afternoon getaways to my studio.

 

Leave a Reply

