The View

I’ve started a new painting that I’ve been thinking about for at least a month or so.
When I can get a break from graphic design  work, I like to unwind by riding my bike on the St. Vrain Greenway.

As you near Sandstone Ranch, there’s a magnificent view of tree, bench and sky.  I took this picture of it a few weeks ago.

I stretched a  canvas (instead of the canvas board I’ve been using lately) and got started drawing the composition.

Here’s my setup.  Basically, a b&w version, with a couple of differently treated color version.

Then I started sketching with acrylic paints, using light, pastel shades for the first pass.

One thought on “The View

Leave a Reply

