Painting Sara | Day 4

Here’s a sequence of images from today’s session. It’s been a few days since I’ve been able to work on this, so I tried to cover a lot of ground today.

sara-1115-02

Today's palette

I’m concentrating on ‘flesh’ areas today.

sara-1115-03

 

sara-1115-04

Adding details

 

sara-1115-05

Darkening the background

 

sara-1115-06

The palette after some mixing and other additions.

 

sara-1115-07

Looking at the photo, I’m thinking that’s something is not right with the mouth.  I’ve discovered that looking at a photo of the painting in progress side-by-side with the original photo on a computer screen helps uncover problems in the painting.  I’ll do that to help troubleshoot the mouth issue I think I’m seeing.

Posting a painting in progress in this manner is something of a ‘high wire’ act.  I’m assuming that the work will turn out well (what artist doesn’t think that when starting a new piece?).  But it could turn out a misfire . . . . I’m interested to see if the blog process contributes to the success of the piece.  Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Painting Sara | Day 4

    • kseverny,

      One of the great challenges for most artists is to know when to stop.

      I am working on a looser feel for my paintings; I tend to drift to ‘too fussy’. That said, I think this piece could benefit from a bit more work. If I show a detail of the hands, you’ll see they need more work and definition. I think the face is close to done, but, since one of my goals is to capture a likeness, more work will hopefully achieve that without sacrificing the loose feel.

      As always, thanks for your comments,
      Dwayne

Leave a Reply

